She Uban's Chronicles

We blog for edutainment!

Simple Past Tense

Simple Past Tense digunakan untuk menyatakan kejadian yang terjadi di masa lampau (sudah terjadi). Dalam Simple Past Tense kita mengunakan Verb (kata kerja) kedua/ V2.

Sama seperti simple present tense, simple past tense juga dibagi menjadi 2 bentuk, yaitu:

1. Tobe/nominal sentence => kalimat yang merupakan pernyataan

2. Verbal sentence => kalimat yang mengandung kata kerja (melakukan sesuatu)

Type

To be/Nominal Sentence

Verbal Sentence

Affirmative

(Positif)

S + Tobe (Was, Were) + O

I, he, she, it = was

You, we, they = were

Ex:

* The train was ten minutes late.

* They were my favorite friends.

S  + Verb 2 + O

Ex:

* I bought this car in Jakarta.

* I went to the cinema last night.

* He left the office an hour ago.

Negative

(Negatif)

S + Tobe + not + O

was not = wasn’t

were not = weren’t

Ex:

* She was not (wasn’t) angry with me

* You were not (weren’t) my relative

S + Did + not + Verb I + O

Did not = didn’t

Ex:

* We did not (didn’t) like oranges

* I did not (didn’t) know his name

* The teacher didn’t come in

(jika sudah ada did, bentuk Verb akan kembali ke bentuk awal / Verb 1)

Interrogative

(Tanya)

Tobe + S + O ?

Ex:

* Was he your friend?

Answer:   – Yes, he was

- No, he was not (wasn’t)

* Were they good people?

Answer:   – Yes, they were

- No, they were not (weren’t)

did + S + Verb I + O ?

Ex:

* Did you forget my name?

Answer:   – Yes, I did

- No, I did not (didn’t)

* Did he study at his room?

Answer:   – Yes, he did

- No, he didn’t

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

